JuJu Smith-Schuster named 2018 Polynesian Bowl Ambassador

Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images
Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images /

Former USC receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster will serve as an Ambassador for the 2018 Polynesian Bowl, the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced Monday.

USC Football’s presence at the 2018 Polynesian Bowl got a bit bigger on Monday with the announcement that former USC star JuJu Smith-Schuster will be among four NFL Ambassadors at the All-Star game in Hawai’i next year.

Smith-Schuster, now of the Pittsburgh Steelers, joins Tennessee’s Marcus Mariota, Seattle’s Michael Bennett and Baltimore’s Ronnie Stanley as this year’s Ambassadors alongside honorary team captains DeForest Buckner of the San Fransisco 49ers and Danny Shelton of the Cleveland Browns.

The dynamic Trojan receiver has been honored for his Polynesian heritage, hailing from Samoa, and athletic accomplishments by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame in the past. He was a finalist for the Polynesian Player of the Year Award in both 2015 and 2016.

Now he will help foster the next generation of college football stars.

Next year’s Polynesian Bowl will kick off on January 20 at Aloha Stadium in O’ahu, Hawai’i. It will be broadcast on ESPN3 with Dick Vermeil and Terry Donahue serving as head coaches for this year’s game.

More from Reign of Troy

Though it is relatively new on the All-Star game scene, the Polynesian Bowl has become a destination for top-flight talent for players with and without Polynesian heritage.

USC should be well-represented on the 2018 roster. Trojan commits like five-star linebacker Palaie Gaoteote, four-star defensive tackle Tuli Letuligasenoa, four-star cornerback Marcus Johnson, four-star linebacker Raymond Scott, four-star center Justin Dedich, four-star tight end Camren McDonald and three-star linebacker Kana’i Mauga have already accepted invitations to the event.

CHECK OUT: 10 Recruits to Watch for in the 2018 Class

Even more USC targets will be on hand as well, including the likes of five-star quarterback Justin Fields, five-star receiver Jalen Hall, four-star linebacker Merlin Roberson, four-star linebacker Solomon Tuliaupupu, four-star offensive lineman Penei Sewell, four-star athlete Bryan Addison, four-star cornerback Olaijah Griffin, four-star cornerback Isaac Taylor-Stuart, four-star defensive end Cameron Latu and more.