3 USC Football Players Make FWAA’s 75th Anniversary Teams


Aug 8, 2015; Canton, OH, USA; Ronnie Lott during the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Football Writers Association of America released their 75th Anniversary teams on Thursday, with three players representing USC football: offensive lineman Ron Yary, safety Ronnie Lott and safety Troy Polamalu.

RELATED: Top 50 Trojans of the Last 50 Years

The three players were part of a group that featured Heisman Trophy winners, College Football Hall of Famers and countless All-Americans.

Of the Trojans selected, only Troy Polamalu has yet to be inducted into either the College or Pro Football Hall of Fames, though he’s practically a lock to make both.

Yary, a two-time All-American offensive lineman, is arguably the best player at his position USC football history. So it’s fitting that he made the first team, along with Lott. The ex-Viking hit his stride in the mid-1960s, winning the Outland Trophy in 1966.

Lott was only an All-American once in college, but the four-year starter was a key member of the defense during the 1978 national championship run before leading the team in interceptions the following season.

The aforementioned Polamalu made the third team as he awaits his induction into various halls. He was Pete Carroll’s first All-American and the first Trojan to receive such honors since Chris Claiborne in 1998.

USC could have, and perhaps should have had more inductions. Quarterback Matt Leinart wasn’t on the ballot, and Heisman Trophy winners O.J. Simpson and Reggie Bush had uphill battles with off-the-field issues that affected their voting.

Here’s the full set of teams, as released by the FWAA:

FIRST TEAM OFFENSEQB Roger Staubach, NavyRB Archie Griffin, Ohio StateRB Herschel Walker, GeorgiaWR Larry Fitzgerald, PittsburghWR Jerry Rice, Mississippi Valley StateTE Keith Jackson, OklahomaOL John Hannah, AlabamaOL Orlando Pace, Ohio StateOL Will Shields, NebraskaOL Ron Yary, USCC Dave Rimington, Nebraska

FIRST TEAM DEFENSEDT Lee Roy Selmon, OklahomaDT Ndamukong Suh, NebraskaDE Leon Hart, Notre DameDE Ted Hendricks, Miami (Fla.)LB Tommy Nobis, TexasLB Mike Singletary, BaylorLB Derrick Thomas, AlabamaDB Ronnie Lott, USCDB Deion Sanders, Florida StateDB Jack Tatum, Ohio StateDB Charles Woodson, Michigan

FIRST TEAM SPECIALISTSP Ray Guy, Southern MissK Kevin Butler, GeorgiaRS Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska

SECOND TEAM OFFENSEQB Tim Tebow, FloridaRB Tony Dorsett, PittsburghRB Barry Sanders, Oklahoma StateWR Fred Biletnikoff, Florida StateWR Randy Moss, MarshallTE Mike Ditka, PittsburghOL Bill Fralic, PittsburghOL John Hicks, Ohio StateOL Calvin Jones, IowaOL Jonathan Ogden, UCLAC Chuck Bednarik, Penn

SECOND TEAM DEFENSEDT Merlin Olsen, Utah StateDT Randy White, MarylandDE Hugh Green, PittsburghDE Bruce Smith, Virginia TechLB Brian Bosworth, OklahomaLB Dick Butkus, IllinoisLB Luke Kuechly, Boston CollegeDB Champ Bailey, GeorgiaDB Kenny Easley, UCLADB Jerry Gray, TexasDB Ed Reed, Miami (Fla.)

SECOND TEAM SPECIALISTSP Russell Erxleben, TexasK Mason Crosby, ColoradoRS Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame

THIRD TEAM OFFENSEQB Tommie Frazier, NebraskaRB Bo Jackson, AuburnRB Doak Walker, SMUWR Anthony Carter, MichiganWR Calvin Johnson, Georgia TechTE Gordon Hudson, BYUOL Barrett Jones, AlabamaOL Willie Roaf, Louisiana TechOL Jerry Sisemore, TexasOL Dean Steinkuhler, NebraskaC Jim Ritcher, N.C. State

THIRD TEAM DEFENSEDT Steve Emtman, WashingtonDT Reggie White, TennesseeDE Bubba Smith, Michigan StateDE Jack Youngblood, FloridaLB Jack Ham, Penn StateLB Lee Roy Jordan, AlabamaLB Chris Spielman, Ohio StateDB Dré Bly, North CarolinaDB Dave Brown, MichiganDB Troy Polamalu, USCDB Roy Williams, Oklahoma

THIRD TEAM SPECIALISTSP Rohn Stark, Florida StateK Tony Franklin, Texas A&MRS Derek Abney, Kentucky

More from Reign of Troy