RoT Madness: 2nd Round Results from USC Football Tournament


The second round of RoT Madness wrapped up with more chalk, setting up some monster battles between heavy-hitters for the Sweet 16.

First round upset stories for Sedrick Ellis, Willie McGinest, Robert Woods and Taylor Mays ended in disappointment as chalk once again reigned in the second round of RoT Madness, the tournament to determine the ultimate Trojan.

No. 1 seeds like Ronnie Lott, a favorite to win the whole tournament, Anthony Davis, Matt Leinart and Junior Seau swept through with better than 90 percent of the vote against their challengers.

No. 7 seed Sedrick Ellis gave Shaun Cody a tough battle while Chirs Claiborne just missed out on an upset of No. 2 seed Richard Wood in two of the tighter votes of the tournament.

Here’s a complete look at the updated USC football brackets, Sweet 16 match ups and results from the Round of 32.

Defensive Backs (Downfield Region)

  • No. 1 Ronnie Lott defeats No. 5 Taylor Mays with 94.2 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Troy Polamalu defeats No. 3 Mark Carrier with 79.8 percent of votes.

Receivers (Downfield Region)

  • No. 1 Keyshawn Johnson defeats No. 5 Robert Woods with 80.7 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Mike Williams defeats No. 3 Marqise Lee with with 62.3 percent of votes.

Running Backs (Backfield Region)

  • No. 1 Marcus Allen defeats No. 4 O.J. Simpson with 72.5 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Reggie Bush defeats No. 3 Charles White with 67.8 percent of votes.

Special Teams (Backfield Region)

  • No. 1 Anthony Davis defeats No. 4 R. Jay Soward with 95.1 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Adoree’ Jackson defeats No. 3 Curtis Conway with 91.5 percent of votes.

Quarterbacks (Pocket Region)

  • No. 1 Matt Leinart defeats No. 4 Matt Barkley with 92.7 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Carson Palmer defeats No. 3 Rodney Peete with 90.4 percent of votes.

Offensive Linemen (Pocket Region)

  • No. 1 Ron Yary defeats No. 4 Brad Budde with 88.5 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Tony Boselli defeats No. 3 Bruce Matthews with 62.7 percent of votes.

Linebackers (Front Region)

  • No. 1 Junior Seau defeats No. 4 Rey Maualuga with 90.5 percent of votes.
  • No. 2 Richard Wood defeats No. 3 Chris Claiborne with 57.8 percent of votes.

Defensive Linemen (Front Region)

  • No. 1 Leonard Williams defeats No. 5 Willie McGinest with 70.7 percent of votes.
  • No. 3 Shaun Cody defeats No. 7 Sedrick Ellis with 67.5 percent of votes.

Now that the second round is complete, voting for the Sweet 16 will open on Thursday morning on Polls will close at midnight on Saturday, April 1st.

Things are heating up with tough match ups between true legends at each position. Ronnie Lott takes on Troy Polamalu. Two great No. 1s square off with Keyshawn Johnson vs. Mike Williams. Adoree’ Jackson gets a shot at Anthony Davis. Heisman winning quarterbacks, Matt Leinart and Carson Palmer, battle. And much more.

The ultimate Trojan and winner of RoT Madness will be announced Friday, April 14 the evening before USC football’s annual Spring Game at the LA Coliseum.