Leonard Williams Headlines USC’s 2014 Team Awards


The USC Trojans officially wrapped the 2014 regular season with the annual awards banquet, honoring Leonard Williams as the team MVP.

Williams was the leader of the Trojan defense in 2014. Dominating the trenches throughout the year, Williams finished with 71 tackles, six sacks and three forced fumbles.

Joining Williams as the Lineman of the Year was fellow captain and center Max Tuerk.

Quarterback Cody Kessler drew in his own pair of awards. The redshirt junior earned the Trojan Way Leadership Award as well as the Player of the Game award for his performance against Notre Dame. Versus the Irish, Kessler threw for 372 yards on 32-of-40 passing with six touchdowns. He finished the year with 36 touchdowns and just four interceptions.

Senior defensive captain Hayes Pullard finished up his Trojan career as the recipient of the Trojan Commitment Award.

Another senior, Randall Telfer, was named the Most Inspirational Player in his final season.

Nelson Agholor and Su’a Cravens were named Perimeter Players of the Year for their contributions down the field on offense and defense.

Fringe players were also honored, such as Quinton Powell, who earned the nod as Special Teams Player of the Year.

For their contributions on the practice field, quarterback Jalen Greene and linebacker Reuben Peters were named Service Team Players of the Year.

Of course, the biggest surprise of the awards probably goes to back up quarterback Max Browne who won a part of the Lifters Award, along with linebacker Anthony Sarao.

Here’s a full list of the awards, via USC Athletics:

Most Valuable Player – DE Leonard Williams

Most Inspirational Player – TE Randall Telfer

Trojan Way Leadership Award – QB Cody Kessler

Trojan Commitment Award – LB Hayes Pullard

Linemen of the Year – C Max Tuerk and DE Leonard Williams

Perimeter Players of the Year – WR Nelson Agholor and OLB Su’a Cravens

Special Teams Player of the Year – LB Quinton Powell

Service Team Players of the Year – QB Jalen Greene and LB Reuben Peters

Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (Longest Run) – RB Buck Allen vs. ASU (53 yards)

Player of the Game vs. Notre Dame – QB Cody Kessler

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award – QB Anthony Neyer

Bob Chandler Award (Best All-Around Underclassman) – OT Chad Wheeler

John McKay Award (Most Competitive Underclassman) – WR JuJu Smith

Joe Collins Walk-on Award – PK Alex Wood

Chris Carlisle Courage Award – OLB J.R. Tavai

Community Service Award – TE Chris Willson

Lifters Award – QB Max Browne and LB Anthony Sarao

Team Captains – QB Cody Kessler, C Max Tuerk, WR Nelson Agholor, LB Hayes Pullard and DE Leonard Williams