USC WR Michael Pittman named Biletnikoff Award finalist

Alicia de Artola/Reign of Troy
Alicia de Artola/Reign of Troy /

USC’s Michael Pittman was named a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award as a candidate to be recognized as the nation’s top receiver.

MORE. Studs and Duds vs. UCLA

Michael Pittman came back for his senior season with an eye on elevating his game and he’s accomplished just that in 2019.

Now his campaign is being recognized on a national level as a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

CHECK OUT: Where will the Trojans go bowling in 2019?

Pittman is one of three players still in the running for the award which is given to the nation’s most outstanding receiver each season. He is joined by Oklahoma’s CeeDee Lamb and LSU’s Ja’Marr Chase.

With 95 receptions for 1,222 yards and 11 touchdowns, Pittman’s 2019 season is among one of the best in USC history. He is tied with Mike Williams in 2003 for fifth on the Trojans’ single-season pass catching chart.

Competition for the award will be tight.

Chase is on a national title contender in LSU and he leads the nation in yards per game. In all he has 63 receptions for 1,260 yards and 15 touchdowns to his name, having played in only 10 games.

Lamb has also completed just 10 games and boasts 46 catches for 999 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Both of those receivers will have the advantage of competing in a conference championship game, while Pittman’s chance for that extra showcase will require Utah losing in a huge upset this weekend to Colorado.

Pittman’s best case for the award is the level of difficulty he has faced, having to adjust to three different quarterbacks and a new offensive system.

His 10 catches for 232 yards and a touchdown in USC’s upset of Utah will go down as one of the most dominant performances by a Trojan wide out ever. Voters could look at that outing and give him complete credit for the upset of a Top 10 squad.

He has been, without a doubt, the Trojans most dangerous weapon this year. Whether or not that’s enough to give him the votes necessary to win the award is up in the air.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards.

USC has only had one Biletnikoff winner in history. That was Marqise Lee in 2012.

USC Back Ranked. Next