One former USC Football star to play in Super Bowl LII

PHILADELPHIA, PA - JANUARY 13: Nelson Agholor /

Eagles receiver Nelson Agholor will represent USC Football in Super Bowl LII after Philadelphia bested Everson Griffen’s Minnesota Vikings.

For the 46th time in the 52 year history of the Super Bowl, at least one former USC Football player will participate in the annual NFL championship game.

Former Trojan receiver Nelson Agholor will join the Philadelphia Eagles as they take on the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LI, becoming the 111th USC representative in the Super Bowl since the first edition in 1967.

It was the matchup between Agholor’s Eagles and Everson Griffen’s Vikings that determined which Trojan would continue on in the post season. Philadelphia advanced to the Super Bowl with a 38-7 victory over Minnesota. Agholor posted three catches for 59 yards. Griffen contributed two tackles.

Marqise Lee was also in contention to be a second former USC star to be involved in the Super Bowl, but his Jaguars came up short against Tom Brady and the Patriots in the AFC Championship Game, 24-20. The receiver had four catches for 41 yards in the losing effort.

More from Reign of Troy

The Trojans were guaranteed to have at least one representative in this year’s Super Bowl. With both Agholor and Griffen participating in the NFC Championship game. The Patriots were the only team in the championship round of the playoffs without a former USC player on their roster.

USC held an impressive streak with at least one alum in each Super Bowl game from 1970 through 1998. Held out for the first time in consecutive years in 2012 and 2013, the Trojan presence returned to the big game in style in 2014 with Seattle linebacker Malcolm Smith earning MVP honors. Unfortunately another fledgling streak for USC was ended with no players on the Patriot or Falcons rosters for last year’s Super Bowl LI.

A new streak can get started now.

TRENDING: Sam Darnold Favored in Daniel Jeremiah Mock Draft

Super Bowl LII will kick off on Feb. 4 at the Vikings’ U.S. Bank Stadium.