Mar 11, 2014; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Southern California Trojans receiver Nelson Agholor (15) catches a pass at spring practice at Howard Jones Field. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

USC Football: Nelson Agholor Makes 2014 Walter Camp Award Watch List

At long last, college football award watch list season is just about over, as the Walter Camp Award announced its watch list this morning. The award is given to the nation’s player of the year, and making the list of 50 players is USC football’s Nelson Agholor.

A junior receiver, Agholor was USC’s leader in both receiving yards and touchdowns last season, as he totaled 56 catches, 918 yards and six touchdowns. His numbers should improve this season, with quarterback Cody Kessler being a year older and Agholor now being the clear-cut No. 1 receiver.

The Walter Camp is somewhat seen as a companion to the Heisman Trophy. Dating back to 1967, USC has won the award a record six times, with all six having won Heisman during their college career.

O.J. Simpson won the award in its first two seasons in ’67 and ’68, before Charles White did it in 1979, Marcus Allen in 1981, Matt Leinart in 2004 and Reggie Bush in 2005.

Of USC’s winners, only Simpson in 1967 won the Walter Camp without winning the Heisman in the same season.

That year, the Heisman was controversially awarded to UCLA quarterback Gary Beban, who completed just eight touchdown passes that season. Simpson ran for 1,543 yards and 13 touchdowns in his first season since transferring to USC from the City College of San Francisco.


Where does USC rank amongst college football’s most expensive tickets? Find out here

Tags: Football Nelson Agohlor USC Trojans

comments powered by Disqus