Jan 3, 2013; Fort Lauderdale FL, USA; Detail view of the BCS logo during a press conference for the 2013 BCS National Championship game at Harbor Beach Marriott Resort

New College Football Playoff Selection Committee To Include Current ADs

When College Football Playoff system replaces the BCS system in 2014, current athletic directors will be apart of the new selection committee, sources told ESPN on Thursday.

According to ESPN, the thought right now is that one athletic director from each of the power conferences–ACC, Big 10, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC–will comprise the selection committee. Whether ADs from the remaining conferences (Mountain West, Sun Belt, Conference USA, American and Mid-American) will have representation has yet to be determined.

Under the old BCS format, the selection committee did not feature any current athletic directors.

Sources also told ESPN that another change is that it would be “highly, highly unlikely” that the selection committee will release weekly team rankings at any point, a staple of the BCS model, which currently does so after the midpoint of the season.

While current ADs will be on the committee, College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock has stated that there will be no current coaches, commissioners or media members that have a hand in deciding which teams make it into the four-team playoff.

The new selection committee is expected to have between 12 and 20 members and besides current ADs, former coaches, athletic directors and administrators are expected to be on the committee. Hancock has also said that there could be one retired media member included as well.

“We want to have people of high integrity,” Hancock said to ESPN, “and people with the courage to make difficult decisions.”

The new College Football Playoff goes into effect after the 2014 regular season. The selection committee will decide which four teams make the playoff and those that will play in the New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day bowls.

The first semifinals will take place at Rose and Sugar bowls on Jan. 1, 2015, while the first College Football Playoff championship will be Jan. 12, 2015, at Cowboys Stadium.

Next Trojans Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct8:00at Utah UtesBuy Tickets

Tags: College Football Playoff NCAA Football

comments powered by Disqus