USC Football: End of the year awards

The USC football team held their end of the year banquet last night, to honor those on the team who have made significant accomplishments this season.

Of the more notable awards, QB Matt Barkley was named the team’s 2011 MVP (because DUH!), and DT Christian Tupou was named Most Inspirational Player. Tight end Rhett Ellison received the Leadership Award, and LT Matt Kalil and DE Nick Perry were named the Offensive and Defensive Linemen of the Year, respectively.

Here are the rest of the winners:
Perimeter Players of the Year: wide receiver Robert Woods (offense), safety T.J. McDonald (defense)
Special Teams Player of the Year: fullback Ross Cumming
Service Team Players of the Year: offensive guard Cyrus Hobbi (offense), linebacker Anthony Sarao (defense)
Player of the Game vs. Notre Dame: cornerback Nickell Robey
Player of the Game vs. UCLA: wide receiver Marqise Lee
Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (year’s longest run): running back Curtis McNeal (79 yards vs. Washington)
Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): linebacker Augusto Alonso
Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): linebacker Hayes Pullard
John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): Nickell Robey
Joe Collins Walk-on Award: punter Kyle Negrete
Courage Award: Curtis McNeal
Co-Lifters Award: Rhett Ellison, safety Jawanza Starling

Next Trojans Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct8:00at Utah UtesBuy Tickets

Tags: Anthony Sarao Augusto Alonso Christian Tupou Curtis McNeal Cyrus Hobbi Hayes Pullard Jawanza Starling Kyle Negrete Marqise Lee Matt Barkley Matt Kalil Nick Perry Nickell Robey Rhett Ellison Robert Woods Ross Cumming T.J. McDonald Trojans

comments powered by Disqus